The default index page


Founded in 1669, the Leopold-Franzens University Innsbruck is the largest university in the western part of Austria. Located at a traditional north-south crossroads connecting Europe, it is oriented internationally while positioned locally. This is also reflected in the current research focus areas: These include Alpine Space, Cultural Encounters – Cultural Conflicts, Economy, Politics & Society (EPoS), Molecular Biosciences, Physics, Scientific Computing and the Digital Science Center (DiSC).

The University’s main mandate is to focus on research and development, teaching and continuing professional education and training. In all these fields its regional status is to be deepened and its high ranking in the European academic area is to be guaranteed. . The University of Innsbruck is divided into 16 faculties and 83 departments.